top of page

Summary of Joshua 12

The book of Joshua chapter 12 summary gave a brief outlined of the kings of Canaan who were defeated by the Israelites. The first few paragraphs of chapter 12 began with a list of all the kings that was defeated from the East of Jordan and the lands the children of Israel conquered and possessed. This is the side that borders the children of Ammon. It began with the king of Jericho and ended with the king of Tirzah.

A few in between included the king of Jerusalem, Hebron, Lachish, Makkedah, Kedesh, and Gilgal. Joshua took down and destroyed a total of thirty-one kings.

The book of Joshua shows that God is true to HIS promises. He had promised his people a land, and there were now entering in to possess it. However, it was not automatic. God required them to actively engage in warfare in order to gain what he had given them. God’s judgement is upon the sins of the Canaanites and the hand of the Israel armies is also a prominent theme.

The book of Joshua is very interesting to read. I had to share chapter 12 where ALL the Kings of West Jordan were defeated.

Kings Defeated in West Jordan:

Here is a list of the kings of the land that Joshua and the Israelites conquered on the west side of the Jordan, from Baal Gad in the Valley of Lebanon to Mount Halak, which rises toward Seir. Joshua gave their lands as an inheritance to the tribes of Israel according to their tribal divisions.

The lands included the hill country, the western foothills, the Arabah, the mountain slopes, the wilderness, and the Negev. These were the lands of the Hittites, Amorites, Canaanites, Perizzites, Hivites and Jebusites.

These were the kings Israel Defeated:

1.The king of Jericho

2. The king of Ai (near Bethel)

3.The king of Jerusalem

4 The king of Hebron

5.The king of Jarmuth

6.The king of Lachish

7.The king of Eglon

8.The king of Gezer

9.The king of Debir

10.The king of Geder

11. The king of Hormah

12. The king of Arad

13.The king of Libnah

14.The king of Adullam

15.The king of Makkedah

16.The king of Bethel

17.The king of Tappuah

18.The king of Hepher

19.The king of Aphek

20.The king of Lasharon

21.The king of Madon

22.The king of Hazor

23.The king of Shimron Meron

24.The king of Akshaph

25.The king of Taanach

26.The king of Megiddo

27.The king of Kedesh

28.The king of Jokneam in Carmel

29. The king of Dor (in Naphoth Dor)

30.The king of Goyim in Gilgal

31.The king of Tirzah

According to the Bible all thirty-one kings and their cities were destroyed.

Joshua 12:7-24 NIV


61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page